About County Government

Sussex County, New Jersey
County Government Structure

Sussex County is governed by five (5) Commissioners who are elected by the voters of Sussex County. Each serves on the county’s Board of County Commissioners for a term of three (3) years, after which time they can seek re‐election or retire.

The Commisions meet on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month at 6 p.m. Meetings are “open to the public,” which means anyone can attend to observe the meeting. Two periods are set aside for public comment during regular board meetings. The meetings are held at the County Administrative Center, One Spring Street, Newton, NJ.

Board of County Commissioners
Clerk of the Board of County Commisioners
County Counsel

What is a “Commissioner”?

A Commissioner is the elected county government representative in New Jersey who serves on the county’s main governing body, the Board of County Commissioners.

The Sussex County Board of County Commissioners sets policy for the county’s departments and divisions, plus a number of boards, commissions, authorities and committees. The Commissioners appoint a county administrator to supervise the actual day‐to‐day operation of county government.

Formerly called “Freeholders”, the title Commissioner was adopted on January 1, 2021 due to a change in state law.

The basic law establishing the freeholder form of county government in New Jersey was enacted in 1798. In the beginning, each corporate municipality was represented by a freeholder on the county governing board. But as the number of municipalities increased to the point where some boards were bogged down by sheer weight of numbers, the law was changed. In 1912, the “Small Board” Act was adopted, permitting counties to elect freeholders from the county at large. The exact number of freeholders making up each county board was to be determined by the respective county’s population. The law was permissive and subject to approval by the voters at a referendum.

Since its enactment, 17 of New Jersey’s 21 counties have taken advantage of this Act. Only four counties: Gloucester, Salem, Atlantic, and Cumberland, retain the historic form with one Commissioner elected from each governing body or subdivision. Sussex County has five Commissioners. A county may have between three and nine Commissioners, depending on its population and classification.

The Commissioners are elected at‐large to serve three‐year staggered terms. The five Commissioners elect a director from among themselves to run their meetings and to serve as a spokesperson for the board.

New Jersey was the only state whose elected county representatives were called freeholders.

Sussex County is represented in the Federal Government by two Senators and two Congressmen:


U.S. Senator Cory A. Booker arrow (Democrat)
U.S. Senator Robert Menendez arrow (Democrat)


U.S. Rep. for the 11th Congressional District – Mikie Sherrill arrow (Democrat)
U.S. Rep. for the 5th Congressional District – Josh Gottheimer arrow (Democrat)

Sussex County is represented in NJ State Government by its Governor, one member of the State Senate and two members of the General Assembly:

Governor Phil Murphy arrow (Democrat)
State Senator Steven V. Oroho arrow (Republican) – 24th Legislative District
Assemblyman Parker Space arrow (Republican) – 24th Legislative District
Assemblywoman Harold J. Wirths arrow (Republican) – 24th Legislative District

Sussex County’s Constitutional Officers* are:

Jeff Parrott, County Clerk (Republican)
Michael Strada arrow, Sheriff (Republican)
Gary R. Chiusano arrow, Surrogate (Republican)
Francis Koch, County Prosecutor

* Each of New Jersey’s 21 counties has three constitutional officers that are elected by the citizens of their respective county; they are the County Clerk, County Sheriff, and County Surrogate. The County Prosecutor is appointed and serves at the pleasure of the governor.

Functions of the County Clerk:

Responsible for the administration of a broad range of services, including:

  • The recording of all documents affecting real estate ownership
  • The processing of U.S. Passport applications
  • Assisting persons who apply to become a Notary Public
  • Filing of Business Trade names
  • Filing of military discharges
  • Issuance of Veteran Cards
  • Issuance of veteran’s peddler licenses

The County Clerk also plays a key role in the conduct of elections:

  • Accepts nominating petitions (as election official)
  • Draws for ballot position (as election official)
  • Designs layout of ballot (as election official)
  • Processes the Mail‐In ballot
  • Certifies election results & issues candidate certificates of election (as election official)

Functions of the County Sheriff:

  • Makes arrests
  • Controls traffic, conducts accident investigations, transports prisoners
  • Conducts routine patrols
  • Maintains and operates county jail, other facilities
  • Sponsors community crime prevention programs

Functions of the County Surrogate:

  • Probates wills
  • Processes adoptions
  • Processes contested probate matters
  • Processes alleged incompetents
  • Films and records all probate proceedings
  • Invests minor’s funds
  • Appoints guardians of minors

Functions of the County Prosecutor:

  • Legal advocate of the people, responsible for the enforcement of criminal laws
  • Staff consist of nine Assistant Prosecutors, twenty detectives and twenty administrative personnel
  • Office detects, investigates, apprehends and prosecutes all criminal offenders in the County
  • Office comprises Major Crimes Unit, Sex Crimes Unit, Juvenile Unit, Domestic Violence Unit and Grand Jury Unit and the Gangs, Guns & Narcotics Task Force
  • Includes a number of secondary units concerned with particular functions such as the Evidence Unit, Fugitive Unit and Forfeitures Unit