Announcement – New Notary Educational and Testing Requirements
Source: NJ DORES
Under New Jersey’s new notary public law (P.L. 2021, c. 179), the NJ Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services (DORES) is responsible for implementing various changes designed to modernize the notary commissioning process and general notarial practices in this State.
Among the key changes are educational and testing requirements for New Jersey notaries public. Beginning July 2022, the following statutory provisions become effective:
For initial commissions. Non-attorney applicants for initial notary public commissions must provide proof that they have:
- Completed a six-hour course of study approved by the State Treasurer; and
- Passed an examination prescribed by the State Treasurer.
Procedures for compliance with the above provisions will be made available via DORES’s web site: nj.gov/njbgs. Please check the site periodically for updates.
For renewed commissions. A commissioned notary public applying to renew a commission who has satisfactorily completed the six-hour course of study and passed an examination prescribed by the State Treasurer at least one time, or those who were commissioned for the first time before the October 22, 2021 effective date of P.L. 2021, c.179 must complete a three-hour continuing education course. Procedures for compliance with this provision will be made available via DORES’s web site. Please check the site periodically for updates.
Applying to become a Notary Public
What to do
Individuals who wish to become a Notary Public (or renew an expiring certificate) should visit the NJ Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services at: https://www.njportal.com/DOR/Notary to complete the online application. Your online application will automatically be forwarded to a State Legislator for endorsement. If you are not a New Jersey resident, you will be required to upload an electronic copy of a business affidavit to attest that you are employed in New Jersey. Acceptable file format for uploads include JPG, PDF, and PNG with 3MB as the maximum limit per file.
Beginning July 2022, the State requires that notary applicants pass an exam in order to become a notary or renew an existing commission. Details about educational and testing requirements can be found on the state’s website at nj.gov/njbgs. There is an application fee of $30. Acceptable forms of payment are MasterCard, Visa, Discover, and American Express, as well as any debit card that can be processed as a credit card. In addition, there is an e-check payment option.
When you receive your approved notary public license from the State, confirming your commission, you must bring it in to the County Clerk’s Office in Newton to be administered the Notary Oath. No appointment is necessary; Contact Us for our address, regular office hours, and holiday closings schedule.
Note: The Notary Public Oath Qualification Certificate must be completed at the Clerk’s Office within 90 days of the receipt of your commission. Failure to do so in the allotted time will result in cancellation of your appointment.
What it will cost
In addition to the $30 online application fee, there is a $15.00 fee payable to the County Clerk to have the Oath of Office administered and to register your Notary Commission in the county.
The County Clerk administers oaths to new notaries public and to elected officials. In addition, the following oaths will be notarized by the County Clerk or his staff: Clerk’s Certificate of Trade Name or Dissolution of Trade Name affidavit; Candidate [for Elective Office] Petition oaths/affidavits; Passport Statement of Consent oath. Sussex County Clerk’s notary services are limited to the above stated. This office does not provide general notary services for the public; persons requiring the notarization of personal documents will have to employ the services of an outside notary or attorney.
Name/Address Change: If you have a current notary commission and require a name or address change, you can now do so online through the State’s Notary Public Application Filing System (NPAFS); simply log in to NPAFS at https://www.njportal.com/DOR/Notary and select “Name and Address Change.” Notaries Public who have legally changed their names are required to report the change and obtain a new Commission Certificate. There is a $30 fee for name changes, payable to the State of NJ (by electronic check or credit card). You will be required to update your name and signature with the County Clerk.
Visit the state’s Web site to download a Notary Public Manual.